Violences

ophelia_baum
Music Theatre in Two Parts

on works by Juha T. Koskinen and Hans Werner Henze
texts by William ShakespeareHeiner Müller
and Jules Laforgue

 

Ophelia/Tiefsee by Juha T. Koskinen + Katharina Blum by Hans Werner Henze

World premiere of Ophelia/Tiefsee on February 14th, 2017 at the Maison de la Radio (Paris)
in the framework of Festival Présences.

World premiere of the diptych Violences on February 6th, 2019 at the Finnish National Opera (Helsinki)
in the framework of Festival Musica Nova.

with Thomas Kellner, actor
Vladimir Percevic, solo viola
Chamber orchestra (16 musicians)

Libretto and stage direction  Aleksi Barrière
Musical direction  Clément Mao-Takacs

Lighting design  Étienne Exbrayat

The performance on February 14th 2017 was preceded by a concert by Secession Orchestra (premieres by Florent Motsch, Kaija Saariaho and Davor B. Vincze) and broadcast live on France Musique.

« How violence is born and where it can lead. » This question, formulated by German author Heinrich Böll as a subtitle to his novel The Lost Honor of Katharina Blum (1974), is the starting point of this show. A Wehrmacht deserter, and later a committed intellectual in West Germany, Böll wrote in a time when the attacks of the Red Army Faction of Baader and Meinhof spread fear and confusion. But the foremost violence, as Böll postulated, does not lie in the punching fist or the fired gun: it is in words, images, intellectual structures and in society, all powers that wear us down constantly.

We offer to bring this violence into the realm of the visible through two juxtaposed stories, stories of fictional women invented by men, and rewritten by other men over time. Heinrich Böll imagined Katharina Blum, and Shakespeare imagined Ophelia, to question their own masculine points of view, and invite us to the act of trying, in their footsteps, to fathom the perspective of the Other. Katharina Blum became the character of a Volker Schlöndorff movie, for which Hans Werner Henze wrote music. Ophelia has had many new faces, until Heiner Müller made her a symbol of insurrection based on Ulrike Meinhof, who had also been an inspiration for Böll. It is that very distillation process, operated through translations from one language and one medium to another, that we wish to make visible, and it is also how we hope to give words to these characters without speaking in place of them.

Music theatre has the unique power to explore the multiple dimensions of identity, emotion, collective pressure, by replacing univocality and consensus by something apparently similar but actually fundamentally opposite: harmony and counterpoint.

Feedback & Press

“With the qualities of the Secession Orchestra, crafted with extraordinary precision by Clément Mao-Takacs. (…) The character of Ophelia (…) is here personified by the prodigious actor Thomas Kellner. A travesti role that has the ability to demonstrate the demystification of feminine hysteria by Müller: to the latter’s Hamlet-machine answers Aleksi Barrière’s own dramatic machine. (…) One leaves this maelstrom (…) vigorously shaken, with a spinning head, and with a fierce desire to delve again into the texts.”
(Jérémie Bigorie, ConcertoNet.com)

“One remembers foremost the (trilingual) performance of actor Thomas Kellner and Aleksi Barrière’s amusing and original stage direction.”
(Alexandre Jamar, ForumOpéra)

Violences

ophelia_baum
Théâtre musical en deux parties

sur des œuvres de Juha T. Koskinen et Hans Werner Henze
textes de William Shakespeare, Heiner Müller
et Jules Laforgue

 

Ophelia/Tiefsee de Juha T. Koskinen + Katharina Blum de Hans Werner Henze

Création mondiale d’Ophelia/Tiefsee le 14 février 2017 à la Maison de la Radio (Paris)
dans le cadre du Festival Présences.

Création mondiale du diptyque Violences le 6 février 2019 à l’Opéra National de Finlande (Helsinki)
dans le cadre du Festival Musica Nova.

avec Thomas Kellner, comédien
Vladimir Percevic, alto solo
Orchestre de chambre (16 musiciens)

Livret et mise en scène  Aleksi Barrière
Direction musicale  Clément Mao-Takacs

Création lumières  Étienne Exbrayat

La représentation du 14 février 2017 par Secession Orchestra était précédée d’un concert de Secession Orchestra (créations de Florent Motsch, Kaija Saariaho et Davor B. Vincze) et diffusée en direct sur France Musique.

« Comment naît la violence et où elle peut conduire. » Cette question, posée par l’écrivain allemand Heinrich Böll en sous-titre de son roman L’Honneur perdu de Katharina Blum (1974), est le point de départ du spectacle. Déserteur de la Wehrmacht, intellectuel engagé de l’Allemagne de l’Ouest, Böll écrit à l’époque où les attentats de la Fraction Armée Rouge de Baader et Meinhof sèment le trouble. Mais la violence première, postule-t-il, n’est pas dans le poing qui frappe ou au bout d’un fusil : elle réside dans les mots, les images, les structures de la pensée et de la société, qui nous travaillent au corps.

Nous proposons de faire affleurer cette violence à travers deux histoires juxtaposées, l’histoire de deux femmes de fiction, inventées par des hommes, et réécrites par d’autres hommes au fil du temps. Heinrich Böll a imaginé Katharina Blum, et Shakespeare Ophélie, pour interroger leur propre regard masculin, en nous invitant à leur suite à sortir de nous-mêmes pour imaginer la perspective de l’Autre. Katharina Blum est devenue un personnage de film de Volker Schlöndorff, pour lequel Hans Werner Henze a écrit une musique. Ophélie a connu de nouveaux avatars, jusqu’à Heiner Müller qui en fait une figure de la révolte sur le modèle d’Ulrike Meinhof qui avait déjà inspiré Böll. C’est cette distillation même, dans les traductions successives d’une forme, d’un langage à l’autre, que nous voulons mettre en lumière, et où nous pouvons espérer donner la parole à ces personnages sans parler indument à leur place.

Le théâtre musical a la possibilité unique d’explorer les multiples dimensions de l’identité, de l’émotion, et de la pression collective, en remplaçant l’univocité et le consensus par quelque chose d’en apparence similaire mais en réalité fondamentalement opposé : l’harmonie et le contrepoint.

Quelques échos...

« (Avec) les qualités du Secession Orchestra que façonne avec une extraordinaire précision Clément Mao-Takacs. (…) Le personnage d’Ophélie (…) est ici incarné par le prodigieux comédien Thomas Kellner. Un rôle travesti à même de montrer cette démystification de l’hystérie féminine à laquelle s’emploie Müller. Car répond à la Hamlet-machine de ce dernier la propre machine dramatique d’Aleksi Barrière. (…) On sort de ce maelstrom (…) vigoureusement secoué, le cerveau en ébullition, avec une furieuse envie de relire les textes. »
(Jérémie Bigorie, ConcertoNet.com)

« On retiendra la performance (trilingue) de l’acteur Thomas Kellner et la mise en scène amusante et originale d’Aleksi Barrière. »
(Alexandre Jamar, ForumOpéra)